This Is EGG-citing!

Holy duck eggs, Batman! I have no idea what we’re going to do with  48 ducks if all these eggs hatch. Let me back up a bit and explain what’s going on.

 

20170309_090225

I have a friend. He has a bunch of ducks. He wants MORE ducks! He saw my post on Facebook when Luna, Daffodil, Zippy and Tippy were hatched and he wanted to know if we could go halfsies on some ducklings. He would provide the eggs, I would provide the incubator. Me, being the ever enthusiastic dreamer, said “YES”!

 

If you’ve ever hatched eggs before, you know that eggs must be babied. A lot! Temperature control is a HUGE requirement. It must stay 99.5 degrees at all times. Humidity is another HUGE factor. Too much humidity and the chicks(according to some) drown in the egg. To low, and the membranes could dry out, stick to the chick and prevent it from hatching out of the shell. Ugh. I stress myself out just thinking about it. So, to relieve the stress involved in hatching that many eggs… for someone else, my darling husband found me the most incredible incubator. It’s like an incubator from the future.

20170309_084506

It’s got fans, and thermometers and built in humidifiers. It’s got warning alarms, flashing lights and a built in hygrometer. We’re talking serious stuff here! I couldn’t wait to get it home and tear into the instruction manual so I could learn all about this beautiful machine. And then… I realized… it was a product of China. I have nothing wrong with buying Chinese products, most of the stuff sold in our stores was manufactured elsewhere. What I do have a problem with is reading an owners manual that was translated IN CHINA. I have read the book 10 times and I still have no idea how to operate this thing. Bells and whistles are great, when you know how to use them. I prayed for the gift of interpretation and I think I finally have a grasp on the functions of this incubator. I filled it with water, plugged it in and set it to 36 degrees Celsius… humidity to 60% and I’m crossing my fingers. The 2 hour countdown started (it turns eggs every 2 hours) and the “Working Days’ function started ticking. I think we are good to go.

Alright, enough of the technical stuff… now lets talk ducks! My friend has several different breeds of ducks. I have no idea how many of what breed we will get. It’s like the famous Forest Gump quote. This incubator is “like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re going to get”!

Here are some of the breeds he has.

German Saxony

saxony.jpg

Welsh Harlequin

welsh-harlequin-ducklings

Crested Blue Swedish

4847630

White Pekin (my most favorite-est duckys ever!!)

live-white-pekin-ducks-1238155

Khaki Campbell

KCPair

 

These are all beautiful ducks! I’m new to this but apparently when you have a certain breed of drake (male), mate with a different breed of hen sometimes you get special “breeds” of bird. One my friend mentioned to me was a Silver Swedish.

50dbd04b_79253_dscf8629

 

So, it’s really true. You never know what you’re going to get. I guess we shall all see in 27 days! Check back in 3 weeks for the grand reveal. 🙂

Jesus replied, “You don’t understand now what I am doing, but someday you will.” John 13:7

 

Leave a Reply

